Writing rituals

18 november 2012

I most of all love to write my letters with a hot cup of coffee in the coffeebar. I like to be in my own little cocoon, while everybody around me is talking, laughing, …. . Love to hear the background music, and the smell of fresh made coffees.
When I’m home I start to search nice surprises to add with the letter. I most of all love it when my writing-room is a mess. Papers everywhere. Stickers, envelopes. This always give me the feeling that I’m really putting all my effort in a letter.

When I receive a letter I always get in bed. I don’t know why, it makes me so calm and happy when I’m in my bed reading the words that someone have written for me. A better feeling don’t exist.

I organize my letters in white boxes, who I storage under my bed, so they are always close with me. I have one box of the ‘letters I need to answer’, and one box with “letters I already answered”. But sometimes I’m lazy, and then I don’t continue this ‘clever’ system with the letters. And so sometimes the letters are everywhere in my room. In my bed, on my desk, exposed on my closed, …. .

Do you also have this kind of writing-rituals?

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

6 Responses to “Writing rituals”


  1. wow you have so many letters :)
    It was lovely to read about your letter writing and reading rituals :) Thank you for sharing. Love Sandwich xoxo

  2. marlou Says:

    ik lees mijn brieven meestal op de bank, wacht op het moment dat ik alles wat ik die dag gedaan móet hebben (qua huiswerk) klaar heb (het motiveert om harder te werken, namelijk :) ) en dan nestel ik me op mijn bank – vaak met een kop thee, en de brief.

    schrijven doe ik het liefst in de trein, en weer thuis maak ik het inderdaad af. dan zoek ik kaarten die erbij passen, of stickers of andere dingen die ik heb verzameld. en als ik dan bijna klaar ben leg ik al mijn postzegels naast elkaar, ga rekenen en tellen (als de brief naar het buitenland gaat tenminste) en zoek de fijnste combinatie bij elkaar.

    en dan post ik hem.

    • marlou Says:

      (nu ik mezelf door school weinig tijd gun voor schrijven en niet meer zo veel in de trein zit ga ik trouwens eens proberen in een fijn cafeetje te schrijven. het klinkt heerlijk, zoals jij dat doet)

  3. yoojin Says:

    Oh, how lovely to read about your rituals! :)

    Unfortunately I don’t write that many letters so I don’t have a ritual. But when I’m doing something creative, everything looks like a mess too. ;) But I couldn’t do it without the mess. There’s just something so inspiring about that mess. :)

  4. yetsey Says:

    Ah, ik ben jaloers dat ik niet mee kan doen aan dit project, dat zou zo gaaf zijn! Ik had je stuk gelezen in de FLOW en ik denk dat ik ook zoiets ga beginnen. Echt inspirerend! Dankjewel!


Geef een reactie

Volg

Ontvang elk nieuw bericht direct in je inbox.

Doe mee met 27 andere volgers

